Book Reviews · Books

Wilder Girls

wildergirls Wilder Girls by Rory Power
GOODREADSAMAZON
Released: 9th July 2019
Keywords: YA, Thriller, Body horror, LGBTQ, Gore

Synopsis
It’s been eighteen months since the Raxter School for Girls was put under quarantine. Since the Tox hit and pulled Hetty’s life out from under her.
It started slow. First the teachers died one by one. Then it began to infect the students, turning their bodies strange and foreign. Now, cut off from the rest of the world and left to fend for themselves on their island home, the girls don’t dare wander outside the school’s fence, where the Tox has made the woods wild and dangerous. They wait for the cure they were promised as the Tox seeps into everything. But when Byatt goes missing, Hetty will do anything to find her, even if it means breaking quarantine and braving the horrors that lie beyond the fence. And when she does, Hetty learns that there’s more to their story, to their life at Raxter, than she could have ever thought true.

Review
Why is it that the books I loved reading the most are always the hardest to write reviews for?? Well here is my attempt anyway a week after finishing this masterpiece.

This was already one of my most anticipated releases of 2019, it sounded like my perfect book and the early reviews were coming in great, that also got me worried that I was hyping this book up too much with too many expectations, and what if I eventually was about to read it and felt that it didn’t live up to the hype? I didn’t need to worry because it was bloody brilliant and it is easily one of my favourite books of all time.

But why did I like it so much? I’m a big fan of messed up stuff in general in books and movies and this book has quite a lot of messed up stuff in the forms of body horror, gore and pretty much the underlying plot in general. The 3 main girls we follow are all very different but very relatable and lovable in their own ways, and the best thing of all for me was their relationships with each other.

Especially Hetty + Byatt for me, having a very close bond myself with my best friend I felt I could really relate to how they felt about each other and boy did I cry about it.

Even the sub characters in this book you find yourself easily getting attached too, and not knowing the outcome of this book had me on edge constantly from halfway through right until the very end. I’m highly anticipating what Rory Power brings out in the future.

My rating: 5/5 stars

Untitled

Books

2019 Book Releases

Untitled

Here are some of my must-read-as-soon-as-it-comes-out new releases for the rest of this year! Are any of these on your to-read list?

Untitled

Untitled

Wilder Girls by Rory Power – July 12th
It’s been eighteen months since the Raxter School for Girls was put under quarantine. Since the Tox hit and pulled Hetty’s life out from under her.
It started slow. First the teachers died one by one. Then it began to infect the students, turning their bodies strange and foreign. Now, cut off from the rest of the world and left to fend for themselves on their island home, the girls don’t dare wander outside the school’s fence, where the Tox has made the woods wild and dangerous. They wait for the cure they were promised as the Tox seeps into everything.
But when Byatt goes missing, Hetty will do anything to find her, even if it means breaking quarantine and braving the horrors that lie beyond the fence. And when she does, Hetty learns that there’s more to their story, to their life at Raxter, than she could have ever thought true.

The Memory Police by Yoko Ogawa – August 15th
Hat, ribbon, bird, rose. To the people on the island, a disappeared thing no longer has any meaning. It can be burned in the garden, thrown in the river or handed over to the Memory Police. Soon enough, the island forgets it ever existed.
When a young novelist discovers that her editor is in danger of being taken away by the Memory Police, she desperately wants to save him. For some reason, he doesn’t forget, and it’s becoming increasingly difficult for him to hide his memories. Who knows what will vanish next?
The Memory Police is a beautiful, haunting and provocative fable about the power of memory and the trauma of loss from one of Japan’s greatest writers. For readers of The Handmaid’s Tale, Fahrenheit 451and Nineteen Eighty-Four.

Girls of Storm and Shadow – November 5th
This is the second book in a series so I won’t post the synopsis here, you can click the link to Goodreads if you want to read it.

Untitled

Books · Tags

Mid Year Book Freakout Tag

Untitled

Untitled

1. Best book you’ve read so far in 2019.
Other Words for Smoke by Sarah Maria Griffin, I’ve a feeling this book might appear a few times in this tag 😀 Now one of my favourite books of all time, check it out if you enjoy witchy creepy magical realism, or if you don’t, just read it.

2. Best sequel you’ve read so far in 2019.
Soul of the Sword by Julie Kagawa, sequel to Shadow of the Fox. I know this series is hit or miss for most people but I just really love the Japanese and Anime inspiration and got quite attached to these characters. The sequel didn’t let me down and the end was brilliantly done, can’t wait for the next book!

3. New release you haven’t read yet, but want to.
Descendant of the Crane by Joan He, this came out in April and is a Chinese inspired fantasy. I have it on my physical TBR but have yet to read it.

4. Most anticipated release for the second half of the year.
Ok, I can’t just pick 1 book for this. Wilder Girls by Rory Power (5 star prediction for me), The Memory Police by Yoko Ogawa (one of my favourite Japanese authors), Girls of Storm and Shadow by Natasha Ngan (sequel to Girls of Paper and Fire) and The Queen of Nothing by Holly Black (last book in The Folk of the Air trilogy).

Untitled

Untitled

5. Biggest disappointment.
I’d have to say The Bone Witch by Rin Chupeco, I really wanted to love this but I just couldn’t properly get in to the story and I just started to get bored with it.

6. Biggest surprise.
The Twisted Tree by Rachel Burge, much better and creepier than I had anticipated.

7. Favourite new author.
OK, so I know I’ve only read 1 book by her but, Sarah Maria Griffin. I’m definitely reading whatever she publishes in the future.

8. Newest fictional crush.
Cardan from The Cruel Prince *cough*

9. Newest favourite character.
Celaena/Aelin from the Throne of Glass series by Sarah J. Maas, I just love her OK.

10. Book that made you cry.
Queen of Shadows by Sarah J. Maas, each of these books have made me cry so far.

11. Book that made you happy.
The Housekeeper and the Professor by Yoko Ogawa, all the feels.

12. Most beautiful book you’ve bought so far this year.
The Priory of the Orange Tree by Samantha Shannon, that cover is stunning!

13. What books do you need to read by the end of the year?
I’d like to read the last 3 books in the Throne of Glass series this year ready for the release of her new Adult fantasy series coming in January.

Untitled

Books · Monthly TBR

July TBR

Untitled

Untitled

TBR Jar Picks
S.T.A.G.S by M.A Bennett
Caraval by Stephanie Garber
The Lie Tree by Frances Hardinge
The Call by Peadar O’Guilin

July New Releases
Wicked Fox by Kat Cho
Spin the Dawn by Elizabeth Lim
Wilder Girls by Rory Power

Untitled

I’ve decided to start a TBR jar to try and get through some of my physical TBR books each month. For July I have picked out 4 and have 3 new releases on pre-order for the month too. There’s no way I will read all of these in July but it gives me a good selection to pick from, let’s see how it goes. I am most excited for Wilder Girls!

What books do you want to read in July?

Untitled