Book Reviews · Books · Tags

My Top Books of 2019

Untitled

wildergirlsWilder Girls by Rory Power

GOODREADSAMAZON

This book had quite a bit of hype before it’s release and was said to be a female lord of the flies type book with queer rep and body horror, sold! As Rory’s debut novel, it certainly did not disappoint for me. It’s definitely not for everyone and is quite graphic and gross at times and some people hate how it ended. I loved pretty much everything about this and can’t wait to read her next book. A school of girls stranded on their island with the Tox gradually killing and changing them in strange and creepy ways, told from multiple perspectives.

Untitled

Continue reading “My Top Books of 2019”

Book Reviews · Books

Wilder Girls

wildergirls Wilder Girls by Rory Power
GOODREADSAMAZON
Released: 9th July 2019
Keywords: YA, Thriller, Body horror, LGBTQ, Gore

Synopsis
It’s been eighteen months since the Raxter School for Girls was put under quarantine. Since the Tox hit and pulled Hetty’s life out from under her.
It started slow. First the teachers died one by one. Then it began to infect the students, turning their bodies strange and foreign. Now, cut off from the rest of the world and left to fend for themselves on their island home, the girls don’t dare wander outside the school’s fence, where the Tox has made the woods wild and dangerous. They wait for the cure they were promised as the Tox seeps into everything. But when Byatt goes missing, Hetty will do anything to find her, even if it means breaking quarantine and braving the horrors that lie beyond the fence. And when she does, Hetty learns that there’s more to their story, to their life at Raxter, than she could have ever thought true.

Continue reading “Wilder Girls”

Books

2019 Book Releases

Untitled

Here are some of my must-read-as-soon-as-it-comes-out new releases for the rest of this year! Are any of these on your to-read list?

Untitled

Untitled

Wilder Girls by Rory Power – July 12th
It’s been eighteen months since the Raxter School for Girls was put under quarantine. Since the Tox hit and pulled Hetty’s life out from under her.
It started slow. First the teachers died one by one. Then it began to infect the students, turning their bodies strange and foreign. Now, cut off from the rest of the world and left to fend for themselves on their island home, the girls don’t dare wander outside the school’s fence, where the Tox has made the woods wild and dangerous. They wait for the cure they were promised as the Tox seeps into everything.
But when Byatt goes missing, Hetty will do anything to find her, even if it means breaking quarantine and braving the horrors that lie beyond the fence. And when she does, Hetty learns that there’s more to their story, to their life at Raxter, than she could have ever thought true.

The Memory Police by Yoko Ogawa – August 15th
Hat, ribbon, bird, rose. To the people on the island, a disappeared thing no longer has any meaning. It can be burned in the garden, thrown in the river or handed over to the Memory Police. Soon enough, the island forgets it ever existed.
When a young novelist discovers that her editor is in danger of being taken away by the Memory Police, she desperately wants to save him. For some reason, he doesn’t forget, and it’s becoming increasingly difficult for him to hide his memories. Who knows what will vanish next?
The Memory Police is a beautiful, haunting and provocative fable about the power of memory and the trauma of loss from one of Japan’s greatest writers. For readers of The Handmaid’s Tale, Fahrenheit 451and Nineteen Eighty-Four.

Girls of Storm and Shadow – November 5th
This is the second book in a series so I won’t post the synopsis here, you can click the link to Goodreads if you want to read it.

Untitled

Books · Monthly TBR

July TBR

Untitled

Untitled

TBR Jar Picks
S.T.A.G.S by M.A Bennett
Caraval by Stephanie Garber
The Lie Tree by Frances Hardinge
The Call by Peadar O’Guilin

July New Releases
Wicked Fox by Kat Cho
Spin the Dawn by Elizabeth Lim
Wilder Girls by Rory Power

Untitled

I’ve decided to start a TBR jar to try and get through some of my physical TBR books each month. For July I have picked out 4 and have 3 new releases on pre-order for the month too. There’s no way I will read all of these in July but it gives me a good selection to pick from, let’s see how it goes. I am most excited for Wilder Girls!

What books do you want to read in July?

Untitled