Books

2019 Book Releases

Untitled

Here are some of my must-read-as-soon-as-it-comes-out new releases for the rest of this year! Are any of these on your to-read list?

Untitled

Untitled

Wilder Girls by Rory Power – July 12th
It’s been eighteen months since the Raxter School for Girls was put under quarantine. Since the Tox hit and pulled Hetty’s life out from under her.
It started slow. First the teachers died one by one. Then it began to infect the students, turning their bodies strange and foreign. Now, cut off from the rest of the world and left to fend for themselves on their island home, the girls don’t dare wander outside the school’s fence, where the Tox has made the woods wild and dangerous. They wait for the cure they were promised as the Tox seeps into everything.
But when Byatt goes missing, Hetty will do anything to find her, even if it means breaking quarantine and braving the horrors that lie beyond the fence. And when she does, Hetty learns that there’s more to their story, to their life at Raxter, than she could have ever thought true.

The Memory Police by Yoko Ogawa – August 15th
Hat, ribbon, bird, rose. To the people on the island, a disappeared thing no longer has any meaning. It can be burned in the garden, thrown in the river or handed over to the Memory Police. Soon enough, the island forgets it ever existed.
When a young novelist discovers that her editor is in danger of being taken away by the Memory Police, she desperately wants to save him. For some reason, he doesn’t forget, and it’s becoming increasingly difficult for him to hide his memories. Who knows what will vanish next?
The Memory Police is a beautiful, haunting and provocative fable about the power of memory and the trauma of loss from one of Japan’s greatest writers. For readers of The Handmaid’s Tale, Fahrenheit 451and Nineteen Eighty-Four.

Girls of Storm and Shadow – November 5th
This is the second book in a series so I won’t post the synopsis here, you can click the link to Goodreads if you want to read it.

Untitled

Book Reviews · Books

ARC: The Girl in Red

Book Review: The Girl in Red by Christina Henry

Published: 18th June 2019 by Titan Books Ltd

Keywords: Horror, Dystopian, Post apocalyptic, Gore, Retelling, LGBTQ, Amputee

Synopsis

It’s not safe for anyone alone in the woods. There are predators that come out at night: critters and coyotes, snakes and wolves. But the woman in the red jacket has no choice. Not since the Crisis came, decimated the population, and sent those who survived fleeing into quarantine camps that serve as breeding grounds for death, destruction, and disease. She is just a woman trying not to get killed in a world that doesn’t look anything like the one she grew up in, the one that was perfectly sane and normal and boring until three months ago.

There are worse threats in the woods than the things that stalk their prey at night. Sometimes, there are men. Men with dark desires, weak wills, and evil intents. Men in uniform with classified information, deadly secrets, and unforgiving orders. And sometimes, just sometimes, there’s something worse than all of the horrible people and vicious beasts combined.

Red doesn’t like to think of herself as a killer, but she isn’t about to let herself get eaten up just because she is a woman alone in the woods….

Continue reading “ARC: The Girl in Red”

Book Reviews · Books

Other Words for Smoke

Book Review: Other Words for Smoke by Sarah  Maria Griffin

Published: 2nd April 2019 by Titan Books Ltd

Keywords: YA, Fantasy, Ireland, LGBTQ, Witches, Paranormal, Mystery, Horror

Synopsis

The house at the end of the lane burned down, and Rita Frost and her teenage ward, Bevan, were never seen again. The townspeople never learned what happened. Only Mae and her brother Rossa know the truth; they spent two summers with Rita and Bevan, two of the strangest summers of their lives… Because nothing in that house was as it seemed: a cat who was more than a cat, and a dark power called Sweet James that lurked behind the wallpaper, enthralling Bevan with whispers of neon magic and escape. And in the summer heat, Mae became equally as enthralled with Bevan. Desperately in the grips of first love, she’d give the other girl anything. A dangerous offer when all that Sweet James desired was a taste of new flesh…

Continue reading “Other Words for Smoke”

Book Reviews · Books

Book Review: Frankenstein by Junji Ito

frankensteinReleased: 16th October 2018

Junji Ito meets Mary Shelley! The master of horror manga bends all his skill into bringing the anguished and solitary monster and the fouler beast who created him with the brilliantly detailed chiaroscuro he is known for.

Also included are is the Oshikiri story cycle—a high school student who lives in a decaying mansion connected to a haunted parallel world. Uncanny doppelgangers, unfortunately murdered friends, and a whole lot more are in store for him.

Half of this manga is the story of Frankenstein while the other half is made up of short stories all revolved around a creepy house and the character of Oshikiri. I havn’t read the original story of Frankenstein so I can’t really compare it to that unfortunatly but it was very well done and enjoyable. I liked how the monster was portrayed and just wanted to fit in with this strange world and be understood but kept being regected by everyone. Who is the real monster? As with every Junji Ito book, the art is amazing.

The short stories were great, chilling, terrifying and entertaining. Ito never fails at making me cringe with how well he portrays his stories with his artwork. A haunted house, multiple dimensions with multiple versions of people. Haunted swamps and killer pen pals, people buried in walls and the dead coming back to life. Experiments gone wrong and people with long necks? Pretty much everything that could be horrifying is included in here and things you never knew you didn’t want to know about.

This manga is deffinitly not for everyone! If you love horror, gore and generally messed up things then this is for you. But how scary and gross can a manga be? ha!

GOODREADSAMAZON

My Rating: 4/5 Stars

this book was purchased by myself
Books · Monthly wrap ups

February Wrap Up

Books I read and finished in February

The first thing I finished reading was the Orange collection volume one manga by Ichigo Takano, there are only 2 parts of this manga collection so I will write-up my review once I have read volume 2 but I really loved the first volume. Then I read an eARC of In The Night Wood by Dale Bailey which I received via Netgalley, an enjoyable gothic mystery thriller. I then decided to jump back in to the world of Saga as I had previously only read up to volume 6 of the graphic novel so I read volume 7 and it felt good to be reading it again. I have volumes 8 & 9 ready to read so I will hopefully get to them soon.

Circle of Shadows by Evelyn Skye was Fairyloot’s January book which I read and thoroughly enjoyed in February.  Then I finally finished A Darker Shade of Magic by V.E. Schwab, I took my time reading this but I really enjoyed it and plan on finishing the series this year. The last book I finished right at the end of the month was Queen of Shadows by Sarah J. Maas, part of the Throne of Glass series. I’m still very much loving reading this series and can’t believe I only have 3 (rather large) books left to go, I will be sad to finish it but plan on picking up Sarah J. Maas’ other series A Court of Thorns and Roses afterwards.

March TBR

I never stick to a rigid monthly TBR but I have already started reading A Curse So  Dark and Lonely by Brigid Kemmerer and Frankenstein by Junji Ito so I will finish those. I have a planned buddy read of After Dark by Haruki Murakami with the lovely Keira which I’m really excited about. The other book I would at least like to start in March is The Priory of the Orange Tree by Samantha Shannon which is one of my most anticipated reads of 2019, but as it is over 800 pages I don’t expect to finish it in March but you never know. What are you planning to read in March?

Favourite K-Pop releases in February

Animal Crossing for Nintendo Switch update: STILL NO NEWS

Book Reviews · Books

Book Review: Return to Dyatlov Pass by J. H. Moncrieff

dyatlovpass‘In 1959, nine Russian students set off on a skiing expedition in the Ural Mountains. Their mutilated bodies were discovered weeks later. Their bizarre and unexplained deaths are one of the most enduring true mysteries of our time.
Nearly sixty years later, podcast host Nat McPherson ventures into the same mountains with her team, determined to finally solve the mystery of the Dyatlov Pass incident. Her plans are thwarted on the first night, when two trackers from her group are brutally slaughtered.
The team’s guide, a superstitious man from a neighboring village, blames the killings on yetis, but no one believes him. As members of Nat’s team die one by one, she must figure out if there’s a murderer in their midst—or something even worse—before history repeats itself and her group becomes another casualty of the infamous Dead Mountain.’

A fictional investigation in to a real life tragedy, the Dyatlov Pass incident was never fully explained, as the deaths of the victims were too bizarre for reason. The book has a fairly slow start as we get to know the 8 people chosen for the challenge of revisiting the exact place that the incident took place to try and find answers for a popular online podcast. The middle section of this story was deffinitly the best part in my opinion, the atmosphere was written extremely well and seriously gave me the creeps. The yetis can’t be real, right? so who out of their group is killing them off one by one and recreating the Dyatlov victims deaths? There are a lot of shocking moments but the ending fell a bit short for me, although overall a very gripping read.

GOODREADSAMAZON

My Rating: 3.5/5 Stars

this ebook was purchased by myself