Books · Monthly wrap ups

July Wrap Up

Untitled

Books I Read and Finished in July

Untitled

July Posts

Book Reviews
S.T.A.G.S by M.A. Bennett
The Wind-Up Bird Chronicle by Haruki Murakami
Wilder Girls by Rory Power
Wicked Fox by Kat Cho
Spare and Found Parts by Sarah Maria Griffin

Youtube Videos
Booktube Newbie Tag
K-pop Tag

Writing
Gut Me

Untitled

Favourite K-Pop Releases in July

Untitled

Reading
My reading during July plodded along nicely and as expected, I finished reading 4 novels and am currently reading Empire of Storms by Sarah J. Maas.

Gaming
I’ve started playing and streaming Minecraft again and I forgot how much fun I have with it, especially now that they have added loads of new stuff.

Weightloss
This month I made more of an effort towards my physical health and lost about 5lbs, not much but it’s a step in the right direction and I’m learning what works best for me.

New Things
I also took the scary step of making Booktube videos, I’m already really excited to post more and hope I am able to stick with it.

Untitled

Image2

Untitled

Books

2019 Book Releases

Untitled

Here are some of my must-read-as-soon-as-it-comes-out new releases for the rest of this year! Are any of these on your to-read list?

Untitled

Untitled

Wilder Girls by Rory Power – July 12th
It’s been eighteen months since the Raxter School for Girls was put under quarantine. Since the Tox hit and pulled Hetty’s life out from under her.
It started slow. First the teachers died one by one. Then it began to infect the students, turning their bodies strange and foreign. Now, cut off from the rest of the world and left to fend for themselves on their island home, the girls don’t dare wander outside the school’s fence, where the Tox has made the woods wild and dangerous. They wait for the cure they were promised as the Tox seeps into everything.
But when Byatt goes missing, Hetty will do anything to find her, even if it means breaking quarantine and braving the horrors that lie beyond the fence. And when she does, Hetty learns that there’s more to their story, to their life at Raxter, than she could have ever thought true.

The Memory Police by Yoko Ogawa – August 15th
Hat, ribbon, bird, rose. To the people on the island, a disappeared thing no longer has any meaning. It can be burned in the garden, thrown in the river or handed over to the Memory Police. Soon enough, the island forgets it ever existed.
When a young novelist discovers that her editor is in danger of being taken away by the Memory Police, she desperately wants to save him. For some reason, he doesn’t forget, and it’s becoming increasingly difficult for him to hide his memories. Who knows what will vanish next?
The Memory Police is a beautiful, haunting and provocative fable about the power of memory and the trauma of loss from one of Japan’s greatest writers. For readers of The Handmaid’s Tale, Fahrenheit 451and Nineteen Eighty-Four.

Girls of Storm and Shadow – November 5th
This is the second book in a series so I won’t post the synopsis here, you can click the link to Goodreads if you want to read it.

Untitled

Books · Monthly wrap ups

June Wrap Up

Untitled

Untitled

Books I Read and Finished in June

Untitled

June Posts

Books
July TBR
Mid Year Book Freakout Tag
Book Reviews

Soul of the Sword by Julie Kagawa
Goodbye Tsugumi by Banana Yoshimoto (spoilers)
K-Pop
ONEUS: Raise Us Album Review
Me vs. My Friends ft. Lena (BTS Edition)
Gaming
Animal Crossing: New Horizons #1
Top 5
Hyped YA books I have read
Books of 2019 So Far
Writing
Aches and Pains
Alive or Dead

Untitled

Favourite K-Pop Releases in June

Untitled

Reading
My reading really wasn’t that great in June, I just wasn’t feeling it, and Wind-Up Bird took me so long to finish (not that I didn’t enjoy it, it was just very long and heavy). I’m back in more of a reading mood for July and am excited for my TBR so we will see if this month will be better.

Blogging
I feel like my blogging kind of fell off towards the end of the month, like my reading, even though it has been the best month so far for view/visits. I’m going to try and post more in July for sure.

Gaming
My friend Lena picked up a 2DS so we could play Animal Crossing: New Leaf and it’s been really fun playing it again while I wait for the Switch game to come out. I’ve also been constantly playing BTS World since it was launched last week O-O

New Things
I’ve decided to casually learn a second language using DuoLingo (I bet you can’t guess which language haha), this is the first time trying to learn a language and actually wanting to do it, rather than being forced to learn German in school which I literally only remember a few words of now. So far so good and it’s actually pretty fun!
I’ve also (very recently) taken trying to lose weight seriously, I really hope i stick to it cos damn I feel like a whale. Will update on progress in next months wrap up and possibly do some posts on it if it goes well.

Untitled

Animal Crossing for Nintendo Switch update:
Looks amazing but got pushed back to March 2020

hobi1

Image2

Untitled

Book Reviews · Books · Japanese Book Club

Goodbye Tsugumi

Readalong #1

The first book I chose for my Japanese Book Club was Goodbye Tsugumi by Banana Yoshimoto which I had previously read last year and loved. I figured it would be a good book for people who maybe havn’t read any Japanese authors before (cos they can get a lil crazy), so here is my spoiler review and for anyone who has read the book too, please leave comments for us to discuss!

AmamiOshima

Continue reading “Goodbye Tsugumi”

Book Reviews · Books

eARC: Soul of the Sword

Book Review: Soul of the Sword by Julie Kagawa (sequel to Shadow of the Fox)

Published: 27th June 2019 by HQ

Keywords: YA, Fantasy, Japan, Anime, Adventure, Demons, Gore, LGBTQ

SPOILER WARNING FOR SHADOW OF THE FOX

Synopsis

One thousand years ago, a wish was made to the Harbinger of Change and a sword of rage and lightning was forged. Kamigoroshi. The Godslayer. It had one task: to seal away the powerful demon Hakaimono.

Now he has broken free.

Kitsune shapeshifter Yumeko has one task: to take her piece of the ancient and powerful scroll to the Steel Feather temple in order to prevent the summoning of the Harbinger of Change, the great Kami Dragon who will grant one wish to whomever holds the Scroll of a Thousand Prayers. But she has a new enemy now. The demon Hakaimono, who for centuries was trapped in a cursed sword, has escaped and possessed the boy she thought would protect her, Kage Tatsumi of the Shadow Clan.

Hakaimono has done the unthinkable and joined forces with the Master of Demons in order to break the curse of the sword and set himself free. To overthrow the empire and cover the land in darkness, they need one thing: the Scroll of a Thousand Prayers. As the paths of Yumeko and the possessed Tatsumi cross once again, the entire empire will be thrown into chaos.

Continue reading “eARC: Soul of the Sword”

Book Reviews · Books

ARC: The Girl in Red

Book Review: The Girl in Red by Christina Henry

Published: 18th June 2019 by Titan Books Ltd

Keywords: Horror, Dystopian, Post apocalyptic, Gore, Retelling, LGBTQ, Amputee

Synopsis

It’s not safe for anyone alone in the woods. There are predators that come out at night: critters and coyotes, snakes and wolves. But the woman in the red jacket has no choice. Not since the Crisis came, decimated the population, and sent those who survived fleeing into quarantine camps that serve as breeding grounds for death, destruction, and disease. She is just a woman trying not to get killed in a world that doesn’t look anything like the one she grew up in, the one that was perfectly sane and normal and boring until three months ago.

There are worse threats in the woods than the things that stalk their prey at night. Sometimes, there are men. Men with dark desires, weak wills, and evil intents. Men in uniform with classified information, deadly secrets, and unforgiving orders. And sometimes, just sometimes, there’s something worse than all of the horrible people and vicious beasts combined.

Red doesn’t like to think of herself as a killer, but she isn’t about to let herself get eaten up just because she is a woman alone in the woods….

Continue reading “ARC: The Girl in Red”